Blogging Woes: That darn Blog Name and Tagline

It’s a little sad that I’ve been wracking my brain trying to come up with a beautiful blog name and a tagline for several weeks now. It’s so hard! Despite having joined Blogging 101 c/o The Daily Post (insert link), which I very much appreciate, I’m still stuck! 0_o

It all started when–

–I told a friend, who loves watches and is a self-declared foodie, that he can start a blog with those two interests in mind. So I thought and suggested this, much to his entertainment. I also gave him a crazy-catchy title but I’ll refrain from sharing it because someone might grab it and prevent my friend from registering his blog, if ever if would want to.

Then I also thought for a blogger friend who we call “Sof”, whose blog is called Sofielicious, that instead of the browser showing “sofielicious.com”, she could tie it with a cool domain name to show as “so.ph”. The “.ph” is also apt considering she is Filipina.

But then–

–for me, I thought it was best to use the username I’ve always used: “kcreol”. But then it doesn’t stand for anything. So I thought to give each letter meaning but therein lies the problem. It was hard. I began brainstorming to find suitable and catchy words/phrases to make up the letters. I thought that these would showcase the things I like and find interesting. But of course, with limited to countless interests, how do I put everything in li’l ol’ k-c-r-e-o-l?

If you have visited my blog before the time stamp of this entry (because I don’t know when and if I would change the meaning of the letters again) and have read the Read Me First (because I don’t know when I will have finalized my blog and finally be able to erase the page) you would know how lost I am and how I am trying to go about this.

If you’ve visited Why kcreol?, you would know the beginning of kcreol that is me.

Basically, k.c.r.e.o.l. stands for KikayChallengeReflectionsEudemoniaOn the Road, and Literary. You can find a more detailed explanation, you can find it here.

So like I said,


“I’m stuck.”

I had thought that making kcreol an acronym was a great idea. And I’ve thought about it so much that I can’t think of anything else.

Right now, I’m thinking of changing the “L” because I’ve recently thought of an entry which would go well with a category that starts with “L”. I just spilled coffee on myself the other day. This was the 2nd time that this happened with the same brand of coffee! I just thought of an entry with the title: “Lessons Learned” or “Life Lessons”. It was catchy and it’s not too boring as “Reflections”. So I thought that I would switch it up. After all, I was thinking that for books, I can always use “Reads”, which I think is also alright, if not catchy, and less boring as “Literature”.

I’m rambling… can you tell?

However, though I say it’s hard and though I say I’m stuck, I never said I will give up. That’s the thing. When you discover something you love or even just like, you don’t simply let go. You hang on until your hands develop the ugly blisters that they to so that hanging on won’t feel like it’s a life or death situation. Eventually, you get yourself up there and in that moment, you’ll see the vast view that has been waiting there for you.

In the end,

I will stick and allow myself to be stuck, for now, with kcreol because I still think that it’s me and it speaks to me and of me. I’ll just have to roll out those entries so that my blog could also speak to you and the rest of the world. I don’t think that just a few blog posts can give character to my blog or what it represents. I do think that it should take at least 50 or 30 posts, to be conservative (that’s another 30 by 30 challenge!), in order to show my blog’s real character.

So if you will please indulge me, let me be scattered for now. Allow me to run all over the place. Eventually I will find that niche, a home for my blog that I can say will be quite comfortable. And in that, I will eventually grow.

For now, please be patient with me. I have only 18 published posts and less than 10 drafts in the wings. Without being too mathematical, considering a publish frequency of one post a week, it will take me around 32 weeks or about 8 months to get to that 50. Or at least 12 weeks or 3 months to reach 30. That’s a big IF on the frequency side of things but I’m still positive I will get there–one blog entry at a time.

So tell me, what are your blogging woes? How do go about overcoming this obstacle? If not about blogging but writing in general, what do you do when you get that writer’s block? Share your thoughts.

I must say...

