As a Person, As a Human

Everyone has rights. This is a fact and we know this for a fact. And everyone, I mean everyone, says that rights should be protected. But how?

We say that the law protects our rights. We have the Bill of Rights. But when we are being oppressed, the Bill of Rights isn’t there to shield us at that moment. The law doesn’t take up arms in our defense. We do–for our own sake and for others–within reason. That’s why it’s a good feeling when we see other people stand up for each others’ rights. I think this is one of the reasons why heroes are very much loved.

For me, it’s a much humbling experience to see someone stand up for another’s rights without regard to the “heroic” value of their actions. It’s “doing what anyone should do and should have done for a fellow human being”. This is especially what I felt when I saw this video:

I have read the comments following this video, both the negative and the positive. But without looking at it as a propaganda or even attaching any nationality to it and seeing it as one person standing up for another, then this is worth sharing. As what was said in the video:

I was just being a person and standing up for someone else.

This, I think, is the core of the video and which has touched me the most. To be a person. What does it entail? As a person, better yet, as a human being, what is expected of me? How do I relate or should relate to another? If we even take a moment to ponder on this, I believe that the world would be much better for it.

~ o ~ o ~ o ~

What do you think of the video? Share your thoughts. 🙂

I must say...

