Music Mondays: Rude (Magic)

We dream of finding that one true love. Once we do, we go through great lengths to prove and protect this love, even at the cost of our lives. We break down whatever obstacles that come our way just to stay happily ever after. But was if it’s the parents that try to stop us? What do we do? We love them but this is the love of our life we’re talking about! Nothing should be able to stop us. Right?

Today’s Music Monday, Rude by Magic, is related to the above situation. It’s about a guy who asked permission to the father of the love of his life if he could marry his daughter. But then the father disapproved. What then?

The first time that actually listened to the lyrics, I laughed, thinking that the guy seemed childish in a way because after having been turned down by the father, he went on to saying “Why you gotta be so rude? Don’t you know I’m human, too?” My translation: “You’re so mean!” But after laughing, I got on to thinking what if I’m in that situation as the girl? Or if I’m a guy in the scenario, what would I have done?

Personally, I wouldn’t know. I’d like to think that love conquers all but it doesn’t. It may conquer a few, some, or most, but not all. What do we mean by “all” anyway? Ultimately, in this scenario where the parents don’t approve, a decision has to be made. I say decision, and not choice, because one doesn’t have to choose between one’s true love and the parents. But whatever it may be, we have to stick to it and be prepared for the consequences it may bring.

~ o ~ o ~ o ~

What would you do if your in the above situation?

I must say...

