Music Mondays: Opposite of Blue (Raining Jane)

So let’s take a little break from my high on Jason Mraz’s concert here in Manila. I say little because I’m bringing the spotlight this time to Raining Jane.

If you’re like me, you may have been mislead into thinking that Raining Jane is just one woman. Nope. Raining Jane is a group of 4 women–Mona, Mai, Becky, and Chaska. If you’re like me, you probably thought Mona was Raining Jane, the girl who did all the percussion in one of Jason Mraz’s concerts. Was I wrong.

Even during the concert, I heard some people say the same thing: I thought Raining Jane is just one person.

Whether just one person of a group of women, Raining Jane is quite a formation to have stayed strong with Jason Mraz since 2007, collaborated and created beautiful songs, one of which is A Beautiful Mess from Jason’s album We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.

What left an impression on me was their opening number during the concert: Opposite of Blue. Simply put, it’s a song about dealing with a broken heart, of getting over someone. But the way it was sung and the way they made use of their instruments brought out a powerful song.

There’s no video yet available online of Raining Jane singing it in Manila so I’m sharing a video I got from the YouTube account of Taylor Guitars. I hope you like it as much as I did.

Opposite of Blue by Raining Jane

I must say...

