Facing Facts & Figures: A Promise to Be Fit

null

For the longest time, I believed this to be true. But a few years and several pounds heavier later, I should realize that there is something wrong with this picture. It’s the part where “believing” is not translated into doing. Believe me when I say I’ve watched and download/bought a lot of fitness and workout videos but they only end up on the shelf gathering dust or in my hard drive waiting to be searched again. I’ve watched these videos countless times but that’s just it–I only ended up watching them, thinking and “believing” I can do them and knowing that getting fit doesn’t “happen overnight”. Do you see where I’m getting at?

At 5’4″, my ideal weight should be 130 pounds or ranging between 116lbs to 145lbs. Needless to say, I’m already a few pounds beyond that range and a weight of 145 pounds even if it’s within the ideal weight range is unflattering. It’s a blessing that even weight gaining can plateau but who would ever want to gain weight beyond the ideal? I sure do not want to go beyond the weight that I am now (please don’t ask, I’m still in denial). Even as I calculated my BMI, it’s not a surprise that I am already overweight. Even without these calculations, my body’s already screaming that I am.

Just do

So let’s stop at just believing and focus on doing. I know what I want: to become fit and rid myself of that pesky 30 pounds. If you would recall, one of the names I entertained for this blog was 30 by 30. Though the name didn’t push through, the challenge for myself continues. Therefore, let this post be my promise to return to being fit and healthy.

Beginning today, I will rid myself of 30 pounds and be at my ideal weight by the time I reach my 30 and keep it that way. This is going to be difficult, I know. Just typing it down now, I feel myself having doubts. Still, as the saying goes,

Worrying doesn’t take away tomorrow’s troubles, it takes away today’s peace.”

So I will persevere and take this one pound at a time. As a promise to myself, I will document my progress at least every other week, if not weekly.

~ 0 ~ 0 ~ 0 ~

Are you raring to or just started changing your lifestyle to lose weight and get fit? Tell me, what started you on this journey? What are your goals if you care to be specific? 

2 thoughts on “Facing Facts & Figures: A Promise to Be Fit

I must say...